SURTITLESTM

The TNO is proud to offer English-language *SURTITLESTM, also known as Supertitles, on select shows and times. With SURTITLESTM, the TNO, which has been presenting award winning French-language live theatre for more than 40 years, can now offer its performances to a wider audience of theatre enthusiasts. It’s a unique experience you’ll be sure to get into.

ABOUT SURTITLESTM

SURTITLESTM are translated or transcribed lyrics or dialogue projected on a screen above the stage. This technology, which is frequently used for opera and is now gaining popularity in live theatre, allows us to project an English translation of the play on a screen above the set. The projections are done simultaneously which means that English speaking audience members can enjoy French theatre… in English!

WORD BY WORD TRANSLATION OR ADAPTING FOR SURTITLESTM

When following SURTITLESTM, you may notice that we do not always project a literal English-language translation of the text spoken in French by the actors. From time to time, you may also notice that the actors are still speaking but that you have already finished reading the text on the screen. This is all normal and part of the SURTITLESTM experience. SURTITLESTM are a capsulized translation of the play. Therefore, the objective is to summarize, when possible, the text while still accurately reflecting the author’s original work. This allows the audience to read the English-language text quickly and enjoy the actors’ performances.
If an English version of the play already exists, the work of summarizing is applied, regardless. It is therefore important to note that what you are reading is an adapted version of the script done specifically for SURTITLESTM.

POSITIONING OF THE SCREEN

The SURTITLESTM’ screen location can vary from one show to the next. Its position is determined by the set, the lighting. We avoid casting a huge shadow on the stage or on the actors. Once the screen’s location has been set, TNO staff sit in different sections of the theatre to identify rows better suited for viewing SURTITLESTM.

SOME TRICKS WHEN ATTENDING A PERFORMANCE WITH SURTITLESTM

1. Read the SURTITLESTM quickly and then look down to catch the actor’s performance. Doing this will become easier with time. You’ll settle into your own pace and be able to read and follow the action on stage.
2. Arrive early to make sure you find a seat in the theatre’s recommended “SURTITLESTM section” (no assigned seating).

*SURTITLESTM, were invented by the Canadian Opera Company in 1983 and introduced globally with their production of Elektra by Richard Strauss

Season Sponsor

SURTITRESTM

Le TNO est fier de proposer certaines représentations de ses spectacles pour adultes avec des SURTITRESTM* en anglais. Vous pouvez maintenant inviter vos conjoints ou amis anglophones à venir assister à du théâtre en français au TNO !

À PROPOS DES SURTITRESTM

Le mot « SURTITRESTM », SURTITLESTM en anglais, désigne la traduction de paroles ou de dialogues projetée sur un écran placé habituellement au-dessus de la scène. La technologie des SURTITRESTM, fréquemment utilisée dans le milieu de l’opéra et qui gagne de plus en plus de popularité dans le milieu théâtral, nous permet de projeter le texte en anglais sur un écran au-dessus du décor. La projection se fait simultanément, ce qui permet aux spectateurs francophiles de découvrir et d’apprécier du théâtre en français.

TRADUCTION OU ADAPTATION POUR SURTITRESTM

Lorsque vous suivez les SURTITRESTM, vous remarquerez sans doute qu’il ne s’agit pas toujours d’une traduction mot à mot du texte du français à l’anglais. De plus, vous constaterez parfois que les acteurs parlent toujours alors que vous avez déjà terminé la lecture des répliques à l’écran. Ceci est tout à fait normal et fait partie de l’expérience des SURTITRESTM. Les SURTITRESTM sont une traduction condensée du texte - l’objectif étant de résumer, lorsque possible, le texte tout en respectant le travail et les intentions de l’auteur. Ceci permet aux spectateurs de lire rapidement le texte en anglais tout en appréciant le jeu des comédiens. Même si une version anglaise de la pièce est disponible, un travail de condensation sera tout de même réalisé. Il est donc important de noter que le texte que vous lisez pendant la pièce est une version condensée et donc spécifiquement adaptée pour les SURTITRESTM.

POSITIONNEMENT DE L’ÉCRAN

Le positionnement de l’écran des surtitres peut varier d’un spectacle à l’autre. La position est déterminée en fonction du décor et de l’éclairage. Nous essayons d’éviter à tout pris la création d’une ombre sur la scène ou sur les comédiens. Une fois que nous avons déterminé le positionnement de l’écran, des membres de l’équipe du TNO et du spectacle s’assoient dans les différentes sections du théâtre afin d’identifier les meilleures rangées pour le visionnement des SURTITRESTM.

TRUCS ET ASTUCES

1. Lisez rapidement puis baisser le regard afin d’apprécier la performance des comédiens. Ceci se fera de plus en plus facilement avec le temps. Vous trouverez votre propre rythme et vous serez alors en mesure de lire tout en suivant l’action sur la scène.
2. Arrivez au théâtre tôt afin d’obtenir une place dans les rangées recommandées pour les SURTITRESTM (il n’y pas de places assignées).

*Les SURTITRESTM, ont été inventés par le Canadian Opera Company en 1983 et introduits dans le monde entier pour leur production de Elektra de Richard Strauss

Partenaire de saison